top of page
  • Writer's pictureTan Ejin

Solo Adventure in Penang Island

Updated: Sep 6, 2019



Adventurous wasn’t a word I’d use to describe myself, but after spending the past few days exploring Penang Island alone, I think I am eligible to call myself an adventurer.


If you think convincing my parents to let me explore a new place alone was an easy task, imagine Simon Cowell rolling his eyes because you could not be more wrong.


There were many concerns factored in and personal safety ranked the highest. But somehow, I managed to get their green light after weeks of persuasion, and soon enough I found myself looking out from my window seat, nervous and excited for my little adventure up North.


I went on this solo trip for two reasons: one, to push myself out of my comfort zone, and two, as a final hurrah before my university course commences in less than a week. And I’m glad to say that I achieved both objectives.


It is a personal preference to get to know the everyday lives of the locals when I travel. I met a local tailor in her seventies while waiting for the bus and we kicked up a meaningful chat.


My favourite part of this trip was hands-down the Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion. Its distinctive blue colour was obtained from indigo plants, making the walls more resistant to fungus growth.


From the early life of Mr. Cheong to the feng shui principles used to guide the building’s architectural designs, his eight wives and the downfall of his children, our tour guide gave us an insightful tour around the mansion in a lightly humoured manner.


The British stained-glass windows reflected Mr. Cheong’s two favourite fruits: grapes, for his love for red wines; and pineapples, the symbolism of wealth. Walking on tiles imported from Great Britain, pass wooden frames decorated with gold leaves from China and eight greenish-Jade cast iron posts made in Glasgow, I was marvelled by its magnificent architecture and the care put into the smallest details.


Safe to say I wasn’t the only one feeling this way as the building was featured in cinematography works like the Oscar-winning French movie "Indochine" and most recently in the mahjong scene of Crazy Rich Asians.


I also made time to visit the Penang National Park and met a Spanish companion who was also heading there while waiting for the bus. After a good 45-minute drive, we arrived there only to be told that the trek to Monkey Beach was closed due to landslides. The other option was a longer route, leading to Turtle Beach, which we could then take a boat back to our starting point.




After much consideration, I decided to leave out the boating part. So while he went to find others who are interested to share a boat, I started off with my hike.


Alas, I underestimated its intensity and was very unprepared attire-wise. Thirty minutes in, I decided to head back to my starting point, and to my relief, it started raining. It was a blessing in disguise, otherwise, I’d be caught in a muddy mess.


Later that day, I continued my journey in Georgetown on foot. Other than the unexpected closure of the Penang State Art Museum and Gallery and the heavy rain (again) that caught me seeking shelter under a bus stop at 3 pm, all my plans went pretty smoothly.



You can bet there are many things I learnt from this adventure, like being more attentive to details and announcements. Although I’ve flown a good amount of times before but with my parents around, I relied on them to tell me when to get ready, which gate we’ll be waiting at, chauffeuring me around the airport etc.


Besides that, being more mentally flexible made the list. With plans changing due to weather issues, it was frustrating at first, but spontaneity becomes better with practice.


Since I was staying at a backpackers hostel, it allowed me to get to know people from around the world, including China, Belgium, Austria, Holland and our own Johor Bahru. I guess that makes up for the lack of privacy and loud stomps in the corridor at night.


One disadvantage of a solo adventure is that you don’t get to try as many of the local gastronomical delights. When you travel with a group of people, you can always order different food and pass it around, getting more bang for your buck. Unfortunately, this isn’t a feasible option when you’re travelling alone.


Other than that, I didn’t get to explore much of the town after sundown due to safety reasons, which was a bummer for someone who loves a good night market. But then again, I didn’t miss out on much as I travelled during the weekdays and as far as nightlife is concerned, there were a plentiful of bars and pubs breathing life to the street I was staying at.


As I am writing this, with my shoes drenched by the rain earlier this day and waiting for my flight boarding call, I realised that when I was alone by myself, I felt the least lonely. I learnt to be more comfortable with myself, embracing my fears and appreciating moments like these.


Exploring Penang has been a wonderful decision but there’s so much more yet to be discovered. So fingers crossed the next time you see me here, I’d be signing up for local cooking classes or on jet-skis and parasailers surfing the waves near the coastline.

75 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 bình luận


boonpek96
24 thg 8, 2019

Fantastic read, Ejin! It’s a great inspiration to many to see you breach your comfort zones and explore local delights all by yourself. I love the new format, as well as the beautiful and thought-provoking pictures. You’re awesome!


Best,

B

Thích
bottom of page