top of page
  • Writer's pictureTan Ejin

Serving the Greater Good


Vimalan (foreground, second from right) with other volunteers at project Aspire to inspire in 2017.

VIMALAN V. THANGARAJAH

President of Small Changes, 2018/2019


What the organisation does:

“Small Changes is an organisation that addresses education inequality, but we are looking at addressing other inequalities, as well. We have projects for different demographics such as underprivileged kids and indigenous communities. We focus on community building and development, and equipping students from urban areas with skills they need outside of schools such as financial literacy, media literacy and social skills.”


How you first got involved:

“After enrolling in a medical school, I was looking to do voluntary work. I found out about Small Changes through our current treasurer, Jacqueline Hannah. We carried out project Aspire to inspire, an empowerment camp for the indigenous community in Tangkak, Johor, in 2017. That was when my whole journey started.”


What you have learned from your involvement:

“Doing voluntary work is a great place to learn more about who you are and what you really want to do, especially if you find yourself at a loss sometimes. in each voluntary work that i was involved in, I learned not only about myself, but also other people and their struggles. Often, when I set out to do voluntary work, raring to inspire others, I would leave feeling inspired and seeing life in a more positive light.”


Your most memorable experience:

“last year, I met a 15-year-old boy at our Seeds of Deeds empowerment camp for underprivileged children in Kuala Lipis, Pahang. He was the youngest participant and the only boy in his group. During one of the sessions, he said to me, ‘I’m really happy with where I am right now. Yes, I need to strive for things but i have faith in God and i will always be grateful for where I am in life.’ Hearing that from a 15-year-old is very heart-warming. We are constantly looking for ways to move forward, to be better, but we should remember to be thankful for what we have achieved.”


What keeps you motivated about your work:

“Seeing the smiles on the faces of the participants and hearing their ‘thank you’s’ keep me motivated. it is great to know that I have done something to help them to be in better positions in life. The Small Changes family are amazing, too. They make you feel like you’re a part of them. When I have academic commitments like exams, someone would take over my responsibilities temporarily. They constantly radiate positive vibes.”


What you hope to achieve through your work:

“I’m going to do my best to take Small Changes to newer heights. I’m looking at reaching out to more beneficiaries. The goal is to be really effective in the ways we help them. We can’t just offer help, then leave and expect everything to fall into place. last year, at the Seeds of Deeds empowerment camp in Kuala Lipis, a 17-year-old girl expressed her wish to return as a facilitator after finding out that she was not eligible to join as a participant this year – the reason being, the camp is designed for secondary school students. I hope to see more instances of our actions creating a ripple effect in our society. Sometimes, the smallest change you do can make the biggest difference in someone’s life.”


What the public can do to support the cause:

“We will be running many new projects this year, so we will be needing more manpower. pick the projects that you are interested in and sign up as a volunteer. There will be an interview screening for potential volunteers but there are no age limits for applicants. You can also support us financially by purchasing our merchandise on our website or join the Seringgit Sehari campaign. Follow us on our social media platforms to stay updated on our upcoming projects. All information can be found on our website, smallchangesmy.org.”


 

Note: This article was written and published in The Star's NIE pullout in April 2019.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page