top of page
  • Writer's pictureTan Ejin

A Guiding Light


Choong (left) began to come into contact with special needs children and their families after her son (right) was diagnosed with symptoms of autism.

She is not your regular classroom teacher whose main job is to teach, assign homework and grade students based on their academic achievements. Instead, Choong Yen Ling has a more challenging role to play.


As a special education teacher at SJK(C) Ek Te, Melaka, she conducts classes for special needs children from the age of eight to 12. Her responsibilities include “teaching students to be more independent and developing their life skills”.


In addition, she organises activities outside the classroom such as scouting and baking activities – with the aim of encouraging social interaction between special needs students and the public.


“Other than disrespectful comments and physical protests, I’ve once had a fist-sized wooden

die thrown at me, but luckily it missed,” said Choong, as she recounted the challenges she had faced, dealing with her students’ emotional breakdown.


But what hurt her the most, she shared, was being confronted for “lacking passion” by the relatives of her students.


“When I face these situations, I normally vent to my family and colleagues. Having their attention is more than enough to soothe me,” she said.


Conducting a special needs classroom requires “an extra dose of patience and passion”, shared Choong.


“I have to slow down and repeat the same information to my students many times,” she said.


“When one or two of them are unable to keep up, my assistant will accompany them in another room. After assigning homework to the other students, I will then attend to them,” she added.


In 2005, Choong started out in the teaching profession as a regular teacher. She made the decision to become a teacher for special needs students in April 2016. It was not a spur-of-the-moment decision.


“In 2013, when my son was three years old, he was diagnosed with symptoms of autism such as delay in mental development, language impairment, lack of eye contact and the

failure to recognise dangerous situations,” shared the 42-year-old.


It was then that she began to come into contact with special needs children and their families. Having seen her son’s condition improve throughout the years, she wanted to do her part in helping children with special needs.


“At that time, I was looking for ways that I could give back to society for all the resources and assistance that I had received,” she explained.


When there was a vacancy in her school’s special education department, she decided to go for it, under the recommendation of her school principal.


Starting out was not easy. She lacked professional knowledge in the area and resources were limited. But she networked with experienced special education teachers who provided her guidance.


“I hold on to my intention for doing this in the beginning. I will do my best for the children and their families,” she said.


 

Note: This article was written and published in The Star's NIE pullout in May 2018.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page